What is the responsibility of the Council of the City of Melfort?

The Council of the City of Melfort is elected for a term of four years. Council is the governing body of the municipality and is comprised of the Mayor and six Councillors. City Council is an autonomous legislative and administrative body responsible for promoting the peace, order and good government of the City. The function and authority of City Council is defined in The Cities Act (and other such legislation) and includes both duties and mandatory obligations, such as setting the annual budget and mill rate; and discretionary powers, such as control over zoning, licensing and other City operations.
How do I contact a Council member?

Council members may be contacted by telephone (see: City Hall Contacts) or by sending an e-mail, facsimile or letter addressed to Council to:

City of Melfort
Box 2230, Melfort, Saskatchewan, S0E 1A0
Phone:             (306)752-5911
Fax:                  (306)752-5556

When are Council meetings held?

Regular Council Meetings are held on scheduled Mondays commencing at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 202 Burrows Avenue West. Committee meetings are generally held in the City Hall meeting room. 
Notice of public meetings is posted at City Hall and on the City website at Community Events Calendar by clicking on the Council Calendar or you may phone the City Clerk at (306)752-5911.
Public attendance at Council meetings

All persons have a right to be present at council meetings and council committee meetings that are conducted in public, unless an individual has been expelled for improper conduct by the person presiding at the meeting.
Council and council committees may close all or a part of their meetings to the public if the matter to be discussed with within one of the exemptions in Part III of The Local Authority Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

How do I make application to appear before Council?

Delegations wishing to appear before Council shall make application to the City Clerk no later than 12:00 noon on Thursday in the week preceding the meeting of Council at which such delegation wishes to appear. The application shall be accompanied by a brief written statement of the subject the delegation wishes to place before Council. Delegations are allotted ten minutes for their presentation, but they shall be permitted a reasonable time to reply to any questions or concerns following the presentation.

How are the Standing Committees of Council structured?

The Corporation of the City of Melfort is divided into three major departments; namely, Legislative & Finance, Community Services and Works & Utilities. Council appoints a Standing Committee to oversee each of the four departments. Each Standing Committee consists of two Councillors (one as Chairman, one as Member) and the Mayor as an ex-officio voting member.

How can I become elected to City Council?

Municipal elections for the offices of Mayor (1) and Councillor (6) are held every four years on the fourth Wednesday of October. For detailed information about the required qualifications of candidates, the nomination process, voter qualifications and general election day information, please consult our Elections page.

How can I serve on a civic board or committee?

Each fall Council appoints members of the public to a variety of City Boards and Committees. If you have a particular interest or would like more information, please contact the City Clerk at (306)752-5911.